December Haul

Hey lovelies! 💛✨

I was spoiled this month! Despite putting myself on a bit of a book buying ban for December — in an effort to prepare to a massive reduction in my spending habits in 2020 — I somehow ended up acquiring a lot of new books.

🌷 (poc) // 🌸 (queer) // 🍄 (disability/nd/mi/ci) // 💐 (religion) // 🌻 (plus-size)

Physical Haul

➸ Gifted

  • Aru Shah & the End of Time & Aru Shah & the Song of Death by Roshani Chokshi // I got some gift cards for Christmas from my coworkers so I decided to treat myself to the US hardcovers. They’re absolutely stunning, especially compared to the AUS covers, and it gave me an excuse to preorder the third one!
  • Carry On & Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell // My book club did a book swap at our Christmas dinner and my partner got me these! I haven’t read a lot of Rainbow Rowell but I know they’re HPish (which I’m all over) and, again, they’re beautiful irl. I can’t stop touching them because they have those smooth buttery covers and just 😍

Review Copies (eARCs)

➸ Edelweiss

I’m actually rather embarrassed to show what I got from Edelweiss this month. I know it’s difficult for most bloggers to get approved on the site but Macmillan and HarperCollins were kind enough to auto-approve pretty much from day one. I don’t know what I did to deserve it but it made my download finger trigger-happy and my poor tbr has become dangerously overwhelming. Not that I’m complaining! I’m so unbelievably excited to have my hands on these upcoming releases!! (I may or may not have literally cried when I saw some of these get approved) but I am definitely going on a ban in January to give me time to catch up.

  • Sisters of Sword & Song // ya fantasy about ancient greece, sisters, girls in armour & magic
  • Felix Ever After // 🌷🌸 ya contemporary about a trans teen catfishing a rival classmate for revenge until he unexpectedly falls in love
  • Seasons of the Storm // ya fantasy about a boy who becomes the immortal physical embodiment of Winter who must kill the Season before him every year
  • The Fascinators // 🌸 ya magical realism, pitched as The Raven Boys meets Simon vs the Homo Sapiens’ Agenda
  • The Paper Girl of Paris // 💐 ya contemporary about a girl learning about her grandmother’s past in Nazi-occupied Paris
  • Parachutes // 🌷 ya contemporary about “parachutes”: teenagers dropped off to live & study in the US while their wealthy parents remain in Asia
  • A Song of Wraiths & Ruin // 🌷 ya #ownvoices fantasy inspired by West and North African folklore for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Leigh Bardugo
  • Stay Gold // 🌸 ya coming-of-age contemporary for fans of Becky Albertalli & Jenny Han w/ an #ownvoices trans mc
  • The Black Flamingo // 🌸🌷 ya contemporary in verse about a mixed-race gay teen at university who finds his wings as a drag artist
  • Redemption Prep // ya twisty atmospheric mystery about the search for a missing girl at an elite prep school
  • The Dark Tide // 🌷 ya fantasy retelling of an ancient Scottish fairy ballad pitched to fans of Caraval, The Wicked Deep & Three Dark Crowns
  • Frozen Beauty // ya mystery about “the intoxicating power of first love, the deep bonds of sisterhood & a shocking death that’ll forever change the living”.
  • Wicked As You Wish // 🌷 🌸 ya fantasy about the descendant of a legendary Filipina heroine who must protect Avalon’s last prince from the Snow Queen as dangerous new spelltech and the reappearance of the Firebird threaten everything.
  • Belle Revolte // 🌸 ya french-inspired fantasy w/ Princess & Pauper elements about a noble lady who wants to be a physician and a commoner wanting to learn magic switching lives as the country falls into war
  • The Falling in Love Montage // 🌸 ya contemporary romance about a girl with a no-dating rule having a summer of fun, rom-com montage style, with the girl she is definitely not falling in love with
  • The State of Us // 🌸 ya contemporary about “the sons of the Republican & Democratic candidates for President of the United States falling in love on the sidelines of their parents’ presidential campaigns”
  • The Tourist Attraction // adult romance set in Alaska, that’s all I need to know
  • Ghost Wood Song // 🌸 ya paranormal/fantasy about a girl who has to use her ability to call ghosts from the grave with her family’s fiddle when her brother is accused of murdering her father
  • Cemetery Boys // 🌷🌸 ya fantasy about Yadriel who, in an attempt to summon the ghost of his murdered cousin and prove himself to his family, accidently summons his school’s resident bad boy
  • The Friend Scheme // 🌸 ya contemporary thriller about the son of an untouchable criminal
  • Scavenge the Stars // 🌷🌸🍄 ★★★★☆ ya fantasy, genderbent The Count of Monte Cristo retelling. (Spoiler alert: I loved it!!)
  • Bone Crier’s Moon // “star-crossed lovers Ailith, a magical siren and soul-ferrier, and Bastien, her soulmate who’s hell-bent on avenging his murdered father, are fated to kill one another.”
  • If We Were Us // 🌸 ya contemporary about Charlie & Sage, two best friends everyone thinks are in love with each other, until a new boy and his brother arrive at school

thanks to HarperCollins, Hachette Book Group, Sourcebooks & Macmillan

Library Loans

➸ Physical library loans

I was so good this month! I’m honestly proud of myself. I only borrowed two books, one I read and loved, the other I’m saving for my first read of 2020.

  • Silver in the Woods // ★★★★☆ 🌸 ya adult fantasy retelling of the Green Man legend that I adored
  • Blanca & Roja // 🌷🌸 ya magical realism about twin sisters, one of who is cursed to turn into a swan

➸ Libby loans

  • Pumpkinheads // 🌷🌸🌻 ★★★★☆ This was a super soft, friendship-based foodie contemporary with the Most autumnal vibes and a wonderful plus-sized Black queer mc!!
  • One of Us is Lying // 🌷🌸 ★★☆☆☆ I had zero intentions of ever putting myself through this book, knowing it used some really harmful tropes, but it was my book club’s botm pick so I felt obligated.
  • Middlegame // DNF This is only a technical dnf. I tried the audiobook and I couldn’t get into it, so I’m going to pick it up physically at some point.

▷ Let’s Chat

did you treat yourself to anything this month? did the publishing gods smile down on you and grant you an exciting review copy? did you celebrate the holidays and get gifted something bookish? tell me about the latest addition to your shelves

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s